It is a renowned collection of devotional hymns in the Tamil language. Also known as the "Divya Prabandham." It is a compilation of 4,000 verses composed by the Ālvārs, a group of twelve saint poets who lived between the 6th and 9th centuries CE. These hymns are considered sacred in the Tamil cultural tradition in general & Vaishnavite tradition in particular and hold great significance in Hinduism.

The Nālāyira Divya Prabandham is dedicated to Lord Vishnu and his various incarnations, particularly Lord Ranganatha of Srirangam. It is believed that the Ālvārs were divinely inspired and their compositions express their intense devotion and love for the divine. The hymns beautifully describe the divine qualities, exploits, and grace of Lord Vishnu, and they are sung and recited in temples and households as a form of worship.

The Nālāyira Divya Prabandham is divided into four sections: Mudhal Ayiram, Irandam Ayiram, Moonram Ayiram, and Naanmugan Thiruvandhadhi. Each section consists of hymns that praise and glorify Lord Vishnu and his various forms. These hymns are not only spiritual in nature but also express deep emotions of love, devotion, and surrender to the divine.

The Nālāyira Divya Prabandham is considered a treasure trove of spiritual wisdom and is highly revered by followers of the SriVaishnavite tradition. It serves as a guide for devotees to deepen their understanding of the divine and cultivate a personal relationship with Lord Vishnu. The hymns are recited during religious ceremonies, festivals, and daily prayers, creating a profound spiritual atmosphere.

In conclusion, MA "Nalayira Divya Prabandham" is a sacred collection of devotional hymns composed by the Ālvārs, expressing their deep devotion and love for Lord Vishnu. It holds immense religious and cultural significance in the Tamil Vaishnavite tradition and continues to inspire and uplift devotees to this day.

Eligibility for Admission

Candidates for admissions to M.A. Divya Prabandham have passed in 10+2+3 Pattern (10th, 12th / PUC and UG) in Regular Mode.

Duration of the Programme

The duration of the M.A. Divya Prabandham Programme is two years.

Medium of instruction

The medium of instruction for M.A. Divya Prabandham will be in Tamil

Scheme of Study
I Year
Course CodeCourse NameCredits
NDP101Thiruvaimozhi I6
NDP102Thiruvaimozhi II6
NDP103Thiruvaimozhi III6
NDP104Songs of Thirumangai Azhwars6
NDP105Songs of Early Azhwars8
II Year
Course CodeCourse NameCredits
NDP201Thiruvaimozhi IV6
NDP202Thiruvaimozhi V6
NDP203Songs of Satagopar6
NDP204Songs of Later Azhwars6
NDP205Later Prabandhams8
Fee Structure
DurationTuition FeeAdmission Fee
[One Time]
Exam FeesConvocation Fee
2 Year Rs 9,000/-
[Per Year]
Rs 1,000/- Fees Per Paper* Rs 1500/-

* Will be announced before the commencement of Examination